Things to be thankful for

It’s the end of another week and the end of yet another year. I’m travelling away from home once more and I can’t quite seem to wrap my head around the idea that it’s 2015 already. It seems like only the other day I was starting my 2014 diary and now it’s all over. However, it has been a great year and I’m thankful for so many things and so many people.
 
Wonderful friends and a consistently amazing boyfriend:: I have the most amazing people in my life these days and though we mostly live pretty far away from one another now, when a reunion comes around it’s as if no time has passed at all. As a (technically classified, but I’m not so sure) adult, I never thought I’d have such good, true friends, and a truly spectacular boyfriend, around me.
 
Supportive family:: My family has never failed to be proud of me my whole life, and this year has been no different. When things get difficult, I know there’s always someone on the end of a phone or a train journey away to keep me grounded.
 
Creativity:: Finding new and fun outlets for creativity will always be exciting. Writing, drawing, reading, DIY-ing and (I’m not afraid to say it!) colouring keep me from pulling my hair out with stress or taking it out on undeserving people. Take time out to invest in a project, a book or just to sit back and think for a while, and you’ll find it’s easy to procrasticate guilt-free sometimes.
 
An education:: It’s easy to complain about work load and deadlines and responsibilities, and this is by no means a resolution to put an end to that, but I am so grateful for the ability to have continued in my education. Not only do I love what I do, but I love where I do it and without university I wouldn’t have met some of my nearest and dearest.
 
I hope you all have a wonderful new year, and also take the time to reflect on the past one. 2015 is going to be a big old scary one for me, but keeping in mind the little things (and big things) that make me happy always eases the way.
Happy New Year, lovely people.
x
One thought on “Things to be thankful for

Leave a Reply

