That September Feeling

Summer is nearly over and the dawn of a new academic year is resting ominously on the horizon for some, if it hasn’t started already. In preparation, over the past couple of weeks I’ve been planning and spotting some exciting things which have given me something to look forward to, while I simultaneously plod on with my third and final year.

1. Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett, Cheek to Cheek

I adore Lady Gaga. I think my obsession with her less theatrical stuff began when I heard her duet ‘The Lady is a Tramp’ with Tony Bennett, so I am absolutely thrilled that they are releasing an album together! I will definitely be buying this album, something I haven’t done in a long time thanks to streaming programmes like Spotify. The release date is the 23rd September (tomorrow – eek!), and I can’t wait to get my little paws all over it!

2. Andrea Gibson

If you haven’t heard of Andrea Gibson, I suggest you YouTube her immediately. Poet, activist and all around amazing person, her poems are about love and sociopolitical issues, making both accessible and relatable. On the 12th October this year my best friend and I are going into London to see her perform and we’re both so excited.
‘Maybe I Need You’ is one of my favourites:

 

3. Hozier
Another gig! This one isn’t until February 2015. My friend and I were lucky to get tickets for this since the first lot sold out straight away, but a new date was released that same day and we snapped them up instantly. He has two amazing EPs released, both available on spotify, and his album is scheduled for release in the UK on the 6th October. With a smooth, blues-vibe, velvety voice, I can’t resist, and might have to buy this album, too.
4. Autumn
Halloween, bonfire night, pumpkin-spiced everything! As I said in my last post, Autumn is definitely my favourite season. I can’t wait to play around with layering and finally getting to drag my boot collection out from the bottom of my wardrobe again. And let’s not forget the food! There’s just something about the beginning of Autumn which feels so fresh and crisp and new. It’s probably that I’ve long associated it with the beginning of the new academic year, and that September feeling (everyone gets that, right?) – new clothes, new stationary, clean, scribble-free note-pads. The huge dork in me loves all these things.
5. The beginning of the new academic year
Finally, although it is hugely daunting to begin a new year (not to mention the last year of my undergraduate degree) I am rather excited about it, too. Since the turn of the season I’ve been anxious to get back into routine, and I’m actually really looking forward to my new modules. I’ll be studying Philosophy of Language, English Language in the World, Margaret Atwood and Samuel Beckett. And writing my dissertation, of course! – which will be on Thomas Hardy and the publication of his works. I’m sure I’ll have something different to say about my work-load in a couple of months, but at the moment I’m really looking forward to it all. Hard work will pay off in the end, and this time next year, I’ll have a degree!
Leave a Reply

